To sleep, perchance to dream…

One of the best things about being a cat is that you can nod off almost anywhere you like.  Even better when you’re  a kitten because you can squeeze into the most unlikely of places, and go to sleep, blissfully unaware that the household is frantically calling your name.

Here are some of my favourite spots:

I discovered mum’s laptop the day I moved in. Warm with ridges that give a massage when you roll around.  Sometimes it makes odd noises but not enough to disturb my sleep.  It seems to be mum’s centre of the universe and by sleeping on it, I quickly let her know that I’m the centre of her universe.  I still sleep on it every couple of days, especially when I want mum’s attention, but it does seem to be getting smaller.  Maybe she needs to upgrade to a ‘queen-sized’ laptop. I think this one is a single.

Big comfy chair, with a built in, giant sunflower. What more could a nature loving, sleepy kitten want?

Snuggling up to mum is always nice, though hard for her to take a photo.

Mum tried to trick me by offering me another laptop, but it wasn’t as warm as the other one. I tolerated it for a little and then moved to the warm one.

This bed is nice and cosy too and I think will come in handy as it gets colder. I went off it for a little while, but then I saw Lou the dog curled up in it. Well, that’s NOT on. So now, when he’s around, I make sure I get in it before he has the chance.

Sleeping in mum’s handbag is a strategy to ensure she doesn’t leave the house without me. It worked that night – she stayed home. Bags are very comfortable to sleep in. I also curl up in her gym bag, shopping bags and the occasional shoe box.

Mum has a nice big bed and I get a whole side to myself with a pillow. Sometimes I crawl under the blankets and snuggle up to her, or sometimes I just sit on her chest while she sleeps. But more often than not, I’ll just sleep on the pillow next to her. Now it’s getting colder, she’s put a special blankie on my side.  I could stay here all day with mum, unless my tummy is rumbling.

I love mum’s jeans and if she puts them on the lounge, then what’s a kitty to do? Or I curl up in them on the bathroom floor, while she’s having a shower.

The throw rug is very comfy and I think our colours go really well together. In this photo I was zonked.

I love it when mum comes home from work and stretches out on the lounge to watch TV. Then I snuggle up on her legs and go to sleep. It never lasts long enough though. She’s always got to get up and do something.

I like sleeping on the clothes horse as well, especially when it’s loaded up with washing. I have to hang on tightly when there’s no washing or I fall between the bars.

There are many more places I sleep which mum hasn’t got a picture of, or hasn’t caught me sleeping in yet. Hey, a cat’s got to have some secrets! But it’s good to have so many sleeping options.

Must go! I’ve got some cat-napping to do.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “To sleep, perchance to dream…

  1. Greetings, Lord Qwerty! Good to see you making yourself at home!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

